

Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Councillors' Forum

Thursday, 26 January 2023

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions and actions

1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed Members to the Forum.

2 Ben Dyson, Department of Health and Social Care

The Chairman welcomed Ben Dyson, policy director at the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC), currently responsible for leading the department's hospital discharge programme.

Members discussed the following topics:

- The role of local government as a key player in hospital discharge
- The provision of grants by DHSC and an ask for conditions of the grants to be shared to allow councils to forward plan
- Data sharing between social care and hospitals to allow collaboration
- Support and recognition of the role of the voluntary and community sector as well as unpaid carers
- A need to prepare for winter when patient numbers typically increase

3 Chairman's Update

The Chairman introduced his report updating on recent work of the LGA.

4 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Boards:

- City Regions Board Mayor Marvin Rees
- Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board Cllr David Renard
- People and Places Board Cllr Kevin Bentley



5 Digest of the last meeting held on 20 October 2022

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.

Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Vice-Chairman	Cllr James Jamieson OBE Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Central Bedfordshire Council Warwickshire County Council Telford and Wrekin Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Deputy-chairman		
Members	Cllr John Fuller OBE Cllr Robert Alden Cllr David Fothergill Cllr David Renard Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Michael Wilcox Cllr Tim Oliver Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Linda Taylor Cllr Rory Love OBE Cllr Colin Noble Cllr Penny Channer Cllr Lucy Stephenson Cllr Ash Ashbee Cllr Paul Osborn Cllr Michael Payne Cllr Anntoinette Bramble Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Amanda Serjeant Cllr Louise Gittins Mayor Marvin Rees Cllr Peter Marland Cllr Shabir Pandor Cllr Brigid Jones Cllr Nesil Caliskan Cllr Anthony Hunt Cllr Sharon Thompson Cllr Leigh Redman Cllr Vince Maple Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr Tracey Dixon Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Vikki Slade	South Norfolk District Council Birmingham City Council Somerset County Council Swindon Borough Council Essex County Council Tower Hamlets Council Lichfield District Council Surrey County Council Breckland District Council Cornwall Council Kent County Council Kent County Council Maldon District Council Rutland County Council Harrow London Borough Gedling Borough Council Hackney London Borough Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Chesterfield Borough Council Bristol City Council Milton Keynes Council Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Birmingham City Council Enfield Council Torfaen County Borough Council Birmingham City Council Somerset County Council Somerset County Council Somerset County Council South Tyneside Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Portsmouth City Council



Jackson CBE

Caerphilly County Borough Council Cllr Colin Mann

Cllr Mike Haines Teignbridge District Council Suffolk County Council Cllr Caroline Topping

Epping Forest District Council Cllr Chidi Nweke

Apologies Cllr Richard Wenham

Central Bedfordshire Council Norfolk County Council Cllr Andrew Proctor East Sussex County Council Cllr Keith Glazier South Kesteven District Council Cllr Kelham Cooke

Cllr Naushabah Khan Medway Council

Manchester City Council Northumberland Council Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Georgina Hill